The Road Forward, Part 1

8 Nov

CABINET POSTS AND OTHER OFFICIALS

Now that President Obama is starting his second term, I thought we should talk about what changes he should make to his cabinet and other advisors, etc.  There has been much talk about John Kerry being the new Sec of State, and he would be a competent one, for Europe.  But as our dealings have expanded to the rest of the world, I would prefer a younger one who is very savvy about the world.  My personal pick would be Jon Huntsman, but I doubt he would take it.  So my suggestion is Fareed Zakaria.  He knows more about the world than anyone I know of and he has met most of the world leaders and spoken with them personally.  He is measured, very intelligent, and understands the place of America in the world.

One thing I would do right away is appoint Ray Kurzweil as Science Advisor at Large.  I would have him do a general overview of any program involving science, report to me, and then begin implementing any suggestions he has that I can approve of.  If any of you don’t know who he is, here’s a link.  http://singularity.com/aboutray.html  Alternatively, I would combine the Energy Department, the NIH, and the CDC under a Cabinet post called the Department of Science and make him Secretary, although I would still like him to look at other departments that have science involved.

Then, I might consider something both outrageous and with a little bit of bite.  I would offer the post of Sec. of Commerce to Mitt Romney.  He says he can fix the economy, so let’s give him a chance.  On the other hand, if he spent the first three months suggesting nothing but tax cuts, I’d let him go.

For Budget Director, some have suggested Bowles of Bowles/Simpson, but I would like to do what Kevin Kline did in DAVE and have a single, independent accountant go over the proposed budget each year.  Then, I would combine the office of Budget Director with Treasury Secretary.  It would seem that the two should be held by the same person.  I don’t have a suggestion for this post except to say it should be someone who is not connected to Wall Street or a large corporation.

That’s all I have for now.  Suggestions and reactions welcomed.

Leave a Reply

