The Road Forward, Part 2

9 Nov

HOW TO START

I would call a joint session of Congress for Monday morning.  This is what I would say.

“Ladies and Gentlemen, fellow Americans, it is no secret that some of you have hated me for the last four years, whether because I’m black, a Democrat, or a liberal.  I want you to know that the past is forgotten as of now.  I am willing to work with anyone who will work with me.  I want you to know that I am available to you, so I am ordering my Chief of Staff to schedule, every night from 5 to 6 PM, 10 minutes for anyone who wants to talk to me – about problems, about solutions you think would work but no one is listening, about anything you think would make this country better.”

Then, I would call Harry Reid, Nancy Pelosi, Mitch McConnell, and John Boehner to the podium.  I would hand each pair a sheet of paper with a list on it.

“On each of these sheets of paper is a list of suggestions for cutting the budget and raising revenue.  I want the Democrats to caucus together and decide what three suggestions for spending cuts they can live with, or add something if it is not on the list.  I want the Republicans to decide what three types of revenue increases they can live with, and I will discuss new ideas if they are not on the list.  You will notice that I have given each side the part of the equation they dislike most, so this is your chance to tell us if you can reason for the good of the country or if you are bound to ideology.  ”

“I expect a report from both sides by Friday afternoon.  On the Monday after Thanksgiving, we will begin work on avoiding the fiscal cliff, using the suggestions you have provided.  If a solution is not reached, I will allow us to go over the cliff.  It is time to end the gridlock and paralysis that has gripped us for the last two years and go to work for the good of our nation.”

“Thank you very much.”

Leave a Reply

